Page 1 of 1

Error When trying to perform edit operations

Posted: Fri 13 Jul 2007 12:29
by Balaji
Hi,

I am using Licensed version(3.80) of SDAC components.

I am facing a problem when performing Certain Edit(Update and Delete) Operations. This problem is specific only in certain cases.

The sequence of operations on database will as follows:
1) There will certain set of Select Operations to validate the data user has entered
2) There will be certain Select Operations to determine whether user is in Edit mode or Add Mode
3) When the user is in Edit mode, he performs certain modifications to the data and accordingly dataset is updated.
4) Now when i Start the transaction to update the changes of dataset to the database i am getting the following message

"Error: Cannot create new transaction because capacity was exceeded."

I know that there can be some problem in my Code but i tried out various options and i couldnt find any success.

I am using Query an UpdateSQL components of SDAC for this purpose.

Can any one help me out in solving my problem.

Regards
Balajee

Posted: Mon 16 Jul 2007 12:35
by Antaeus
It looks like transactions are open in many connections, and you have encountered an OLE DB restriction.
Try to trace using SQL Server profiler what actions lead to opening many connection.
Probably it will be enough to close unnecessary datasets in your applications.

Posted: Mon 16 Jul 2007 12:46
by Balaji
Thanks for the reply,
But my problem got solved with a different Solution.

The FetchAll Property of SDAC query components which i was using was set to False. I have set the Property to TRUE and my problem got solved automatically.

Posted: Mon 16 Jul 2007 15:03
by Antaeus
SDAC creates one more connection to server for each dataset opened in FetchAll=False mode. Setting FetchAll to True have decreased count of connections opened simultaneously. You have found a good solution for this problem.

Re: Error When trying to perform edit operations

Posted: Fri 01 Apr 2016 08:44
by cross_join
"FetchAll = true" is not a good solution at all because the dataset load all table's data to client. It's very dangerous that this value is used by default.

Re: Error When trying to perform edit operations

Posted: Mon 04 Apr 2016 09:25
by AlexP
In the new SDAC versions, there was added smartfetch mode that allows to save memory on loading large data volumes. See more details in the documentation: https://www.devart.com/sdac/docs/?devar ... tfetch.htm

Re: Error When trying to perform edit operations

Posted: Mon 04 Apr 2016 15:52
by cross_join
SmartFetch seems isn't working as expected with SQL Server
http://forums.devart.com/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=33458

Re: Error When trying to perform edit operations

Posted: Mon 11 Apr 2016 09:19
by AlexP